(Not now so) Derelict Sunday!

The thumbnail (and the inset on the main photo) shows the very derelict PIR/spotlight unit which has graced the wall of our house for 30 years. It didn't prove to be the best quality - after just a few weeks back then the PIR detector failed but the twin spotlights kept working - until the support for one of them broke. (I did take the unit back to the shop early when the PIR failed on the first one - but after the replacement followed suit I gave up and just accepted using it as a light!)

Anyway, today's job was to replace it with a much posher "Victorian" lantern, which you can see in the main photo. My new(ish) ladder really came into its own - my Editor was pleased (I think so anyway!!) that I didn't fall off it once, neither did I even wobble!

Why did I wait so long to replace the light? Well, the new light needed a different sort of electrical wire (a round one, previously it was wired with flat cable), which meant getting at a junction box under the floor in a corner of our bedroom - which is much easier at the moment with the fitted furniture removed and the carpet rolled back!

(An early next job will be to patch some of the mortar gaps in the wall! Looking after a house is like painting the Forth Bridge, as they say!))

Many thanks to 60plus for hosting DS at the moment to give Marlieske a break.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.