Silly Saturday: November 5, "Penny for the Guy?"!

Well, what could be sillier than the British custom, every November 5th, of burning an effigy of Guy Fawkes, a 16th Century terrorist, on a bonfire - and celebrating him with fireworks! Of course some may say that attempting to blow up the Houses of Parliament was an inspired idea!!

British children used to go round the houses in early November asking for a "Penny for the Guy" - also a bit silly - but this custom seems to have been taken over by "Trick or Treat".

So I thought I'd be a bit silly and try a selfie of me trying to be Guy. We have a pile of wood cuttings at the back of the garden waiting to be dealt with. As you can see, I wasn't very pleased about the idea of being burnt on a bonfire.

(Note: I can assure you that no blipper was at risk during the production of this photo.)

I'm grateful to Pipersmom for hosting Silly Saturday this month in memory of Admirer. I seem to have been a bit forgetful recently as I accidentally double-booked this month, so many thanks to KangaZu for kindly agreeing to postpone her hosting to February.

I'm pretty certain that another blipper offered to host in December but my chaotic organisation has also failed there - I'm sorry that I can't remember who it was! How embarrassing. So if you're that blipper then please let me know - either via a blip comment or by email to davidcblipper@gmail.com. Many thanks. I'll try to remember to be more organised in future.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.