Peaceful Dornoch Firth

It was lovely not to have to go back to Edinburgh today. Still a couple of days to go! I'm sleeping like a log in our quiet dark bedroom here. The way we have done it this week, carving out a full week to be here, definitely works better than hasty weekends with too much driving.

We got stuck back into the "work" today, putting up the last set of curtains (in the spare bedroom), mastering the timers and programming the electric radiators, and putting up the few last pictures that we brought up here. We would also like to print out some photographs and put those on the walls in clip frames.

The place is now looking neat and tidy and quite welcoming.

We took a short walk down to the Links and back via the supermarket. That was probably the best bit of the day, and the Firth was looking both peaceful and colourful. We also attempted to visit the garden centre, which I thought was open on a Sunday....incorrect....

I made a sausage bake for supper, which was quite successful. Except that twice today I have cut myself on our excessively sharp new knives. The latest cut was quite deep and has only just stopped bleeding.

Meanwhile, I've read the November book group book - My Phantoms - over the last couple of days, and now I am back to reading the December book group book, The Book of Form and Emptiness. I'm travelling next week, so I won't be taking it with me. Far too big! But I should have plenty of time to get it finished. To think that when book group started I struggled just to read (most of) the book group books in a year, and very little else (for pleasure). I am happy that I have got back into reading over the last few years. Thank you, hazelh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.