If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Robin ( Erithacus rubecula )

This morning I returned to the Wolesley WIldlife reserve.  My main reason was to try to see the large "Artists Bracket Fungus, which they mentioned in their "November Sightings".  Having walked thoroughly the area it was said to be in the other day I asked at the desk for directions.  The girl (OK she was probably in her mid to late 20s) sadly she didn't know either.  So I walked the area again, but still no luck.

Two things were in abundance on the reserve, Grey Squirrels and Robins.  I almost avoided trying to take shots of the squirrels on principle, I am not keen on alien species which are detrimental to our own wildlife.  The Robins however were totally different.  They didn't seem used to being fed but on the other hand weren't afraid of people.  They were often so near that having the "long Lens" on I had to step back to be able to get them in shot.

In the afternoon, after the rain had passed we went a mile or so up the road and had a very pleasant wander through the woods on Cannock Chase.  Getting back to the caravan just before the rain started again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.