The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Fast the flower fadeth

... wither'd in the bud.

No, I don't mean Jane Withers! At least I hope not. I've been reading a chronicle of High Victoriana, the Mistress of Charlecote, being the memoirs of Mary Elizabeth Lucy, 1803-1889. The poor woman bore eight children and saw most of them carried off before her. Childhood illnesses were mostly to blame. How anyone lived beyond thirty, even in the upper classes, remains a mystery.

In this case, the woman turned out to have a long life, and become a 'snob of the highest water' who delighted in being given pearls looted from Lucknow, during the Indian mutiny. She did not believe in servants being educated, and seem'd to spend her life flitting from one set of (hunt) balls to another! I was not much taken by her adult self, though sorry about the children, and in awe of her powers of memory and detailed description. She only began the memoirs when she turned eighty!

I still want to visit Charlecote Park in Warwickshire, where she lived, but today, with all the thoughts of death and Victoriana, I decided to pop in to Stroud cemetery on my way home. It is such a vast and fascinating place that I try to limit myself to one blip a month from there, lest I go bonkers and start blipping there every day. It is so very handy...

Yes, I've messed around with this shot in Distressed FX. It means you don't get the blue sky or the yellow lichen. The sky was indeed blue today, and as the child J and I walked around the school grounds today at lunchtime, as we always do, the sky was raining blossom from the cherry trees. Little J did not notice, he had his head down, as ever, but for me, our walks are the happiest part of my working day. We also got several children out into the yard at playtime, in their wheelchairs or walking frames, and had a game of skittles that turned into rounders, rugby or juggling, depending on who was leading. When special school is good, it's really special.

In other news, our beloved toaster is dying, after less than five years' loyal service. The one that I ordered on Sunday night on ebay turned out not to actually exist, but I have got my money back, thank goodness. I've ordered another one online, but have to collect it in Cheltenham or Cirencester! Fortunately a client from Cheltenham rang at the same time I was ordering, and wanted some of my anti-inflammatory lotions. I've arranged to meet her at the toaster shop tomorrow. Watch this space.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.