The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Pedestrian bridge inspires soaring

This afternoon I discovered a lovely example of how architecture can lift the otherwise mundane pedestrian bridge out of the ranks of the ordinary, and inspire contemplation of pure forms. Compare it with this monstrosity I blipped earlier this year!

I went to collect the toaster today in Cheltenham, and walked from the town centre past the Ladies' College and the leafy roads lined with Regency architecture to the site of the relatively new Waitrose superstore. On the way I found an Elim church charity shop. I like these shops because they are huge, they crop up in off-the-high-street locations, and have stacks of cheap DVDs that I buy for school. They told me to follow the road round the corner to Waitrose. It's usually dark or pouring with rain when I go there, so I didn't really know the way, because it's a redeveloped area. I found the shop, and a plaque saying that Cheltenham St James's railway station used to be on that site. Which is odd, because the Waitrose in Cirencester was also built on a former station. Thank heavens for little plaques!

Having met my clients as arranged with the bottles of my hand blended lotions (they were laughing at me and saying it was an odd place to be doing a drug deal, as I pulled a brown paper package out of my bag), I got the toaster and returned to
Cheltenham town centre on foot. I was glad I had blipped the footbridge near the new road layout earlier, as I now had a huge heavy parcel! Missed the bus in town, so was forced to go to Paperchase and Waterstones. Oh, the hardship!

By the time I got home it was six, and my feet were soaking wet from cutting across the long grass in the cemetery. I had to be at college at seven! The new toaster is beautiful and retro-inspired, and did not cost dear for its good looks, but my efforts were doomed to failure, as

The butter had gone off
The Bara Brith was stale
The Tattie scones were the wrong kind ( thick, not thin).

However, it appears to make toast, and that's what it's supposed to do. The last one had more LEDs than the NASA space station, leading CleanSteve to remark that this one is 'pretty basic' by comparison. Time and toasting will tell.

Photography at college is getting easier, and I may start fiddling around with Steve's D50. I've been reading my handouts, and the photography book for idiots that I bought a while ago, and I think it all helps. The terminology does not seem like Double Dutch any more. Tomorrow is Thursday, already! Yay to that. I could get used to a four-day working week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.