The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Come, flowers o' the fairest...

Well dressing, a Derbyshire tradition, is practised in the village of Bisley, Glos, on Ascension day every year. The Revered Thomas Keble, who hailed from further north, introduced the custom to Bisley when the wells were built in the 1800s. There's a church service, and a procession led by a silver band ( for some reason, there are silver bands down here, not brass, though they sound quite similar to my untutored ear). Children from the Blue Coats primary school carry floral tributes, which are left to decorate the wells and give thanks for the water. Many, many people turn up to watch.

Oddly enough, I had never been before, and wasn't expecting to go today, because of my work. CleanSteve came down to school to pick me up. BUT I'd already left by the side entrance because I wasn't expecting to meet him, and jumped on the bus to the Children's centre to hand over more documents for my latest CRB form, now known as DBS... We did eventually meet up, and I was soggy and windblown from waiting around in the rain, with my head full of work topics, but by the time we got to the the village and the band came marching down the street playing 'Onward Christian Soldiers' I was more in the spirit of rejoicing.

This shot is similar to CleanSteve's, taken from the other other side of the procession. The children are passing the Bisley British Legion building, winding their way down to the wells. Bisley is a beautiful traditional village. Last time I was there it was at a former colleague's funeral. It was a shock to see the same vicar and all the same people I'd seen there that day, but in a more festive mood, despite the weather.

After going home as soon as the flowers were placed, and trying out hot cross buns in the new toaster, with a 50% success rate, I made a kedgeree (100% edible, because it was a Rick Stein recipe).I then I rushed off down the road to babysit, and Steve went to a council meeting. The child I am babysitting has gone to bed early, which is quite unprecedented. In due course I hope to take myself off for an early night, too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.