lovelife209

By mindful_life

Stuck in thoughts… let them go..

After feeling on top of the world yesterday having broken my year long running streak, I came crashing down today. Thoughts of regret, thoughts that I should have kept it going came flooding into my mind and troubled me. I ran solo this morning trying to make sense of the thoughts but didn’t really manage to. I guess like any habit, breaking it is hard, but now I can’t undo it so I need to let it go. What I can do is focus on the next goals, challenges and remind myself that today’s difficulties will only make me stronger tomorrow.

A real chance to practice some mindfulness. Because the thoughts we have are just thought. They aren’t real, nor do we have to believe them. Commonly talked about as clouds in the sky passing over, we need to learn to notice them when they come and then let them go.. or a train passing through the station. We can leap onto the train and get carried away or we can let the train pass through.. let it go.

Real life lessons have been learnt today. My meditation was longer this evening, which I really needed. Focus my attention, notice where my mind wandered to, and bring the attention back.

My photo is of my beautiful singing bowl, which I treated myself too only recently. It makes the most beautiful sound and can be used to meditate. Focusing on the sound as it fades away. I absolutely love it.

So for the rest of today I will let the thoughts go and try and focus on now. Because now really is all we have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.