Found in a box

The coin.

The modern silver inkwell was on my desk at the beach house, and was relocated some months ago. I used it a few times, but buying the ink rather than cartridges for my fountain pen was rather irregular.

The old glass inkwell and pen holder was a random purchase  from a junk/secondhand/antique shop. I did use the lid-less inkwell to hood a small number of paperclips, but otherwise it served as a little decorative object on or near my desk.

The ancient English coin was (if I remember correctly) bought at the British Museum one visit in the 1970s when we stayed in London for a while as part of my training. Being so small it was kept in a box with other little objects that neither of us knew where they could otherwise be. I investigated the box recently and decided to place it with the two inkwells on my desk in my current study.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.