Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Camouflaged!

It was sunny this morning after a night of heavy rain. The plumber arrived after breakfast and I was busy with him, opening all the hot taps in the house so he could drain the water system and so by the time I went out on our walk the clouds were building up again. It started off dry and bright but towards the end of the walk we got caught in a heavy downpour, I was fine in my rain jacket but Xena hated it, she was running from one bush to the other trying to find shelter. Then when I got home I had to wash her down again as she was so muddy, and of course there was no hot water - the princess was not amused at her cold shower!!

Thankfully the plumber managed to fix the problem. The two partners worked on it together and initially they thought they could solder the pipe that was leaking but it was so rusted and damaged that they managed to replace it without having to go through into the ceiling of the next room (which was our TV lounge) - as it was in a very tight and awkward position to access they warned me they may have to do that - so I am very grateful they did such a great job. It's not often you can find a reliable plumber and this business is run by two young plumbers and they do a fantastic job with excellent service.

I worked on my website today and added some more images, I always forget about it but it is necessary to keep it current. Then in the afternoon I had an online zoom course with the Nikon School on the Z9 camera, explaining the function buttons - nearly every button can be programme into some other function - and the customisable menu banks was also explained. It was very useful and then next week I have the second part of this course where the more complicated features will be explained.

Last night I enjoyed our camera club meeting, we had an excellent judge who I think judged very fairly. He explained that the SPA judges (Surrey Photographic Association) are having a problem with judging good photos of common subjects like stags or puffins. He said they see so many puffin images these days that they are looking for something less common, so while an image may be excellent it will score very well but it won't be top of the leaderboard if there is another excellent but more unusual image. I can understand that line of thinking. The standard was very high last night, my one image did very well and my other image of a stag did not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.