Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Grasssssssshooooper

Since the last surprise grasshopper I have been noticing them all over the place. Last night there were two of them clinging to my door screen. This afternoon I saw this guy just outside my front door. Now, I wouldn’t have posted it unless there was more to the story. I was very careful as I went in and out of the house, taking out the trash, the recycling, dragging the bins to the curb and walking to and from the mailbox. But on my last trip outside I heard “crunch.” Oh, no! In an instant I became a murderer. I feel great regret and contrition. I might even consider going to confession for forgiveness.

That’s what I thought at first. Changed my mind.

Blanca was here cleaning up the place. She asked if I had ever eaten one (which, as you can imagine I haven’t). She shared that, especially in Mexico City, they’re quite popular. They deep fry them and eat them as crunchy snacks.

I asked her what they tasted like.

She thought for a second and said, “Chicken.”
I do not attribute that answer to her 50% mastery of the English language.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.