One and Only

I proudly present our solitary medronho fruit (the flowers are here). They take about a year to ripen, which is why you get fruit and flowers at the same time. Both of the bushes we've planted are full of flowers, so hopefully next year... The main use for medronho is as a distilled brandy - it takes 7 to 10 kilos of fruit to make one litre of brandy, so guess we won't be setting up a still just yet.

I've actually taken photos on quite a few days of our solitary fruit, but something else always took precedence, so today I steadfastly ignored all other beauty, as can't imagine it'll hang there much longer.

Gratefuls:
- seeing a stream of cranes on our walk at dusk; kept hearing and seeing solitary ones as I hung out the washing, but there were possibly about a hundred in this group
- fresh bedding, dried in the sunshine; there are advantages to lack of rain, I know, but the decreasing level of the Lake, and the dry ground is depressing
- Deb getting me an appointment with our UK dentist for our next visit, and watching Eden laughing at Tom singing "The Wheels on the Bus"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.