Peek-a-Boo with Bonnie

Made a quick trip to Edinburgh today to see Don, Kate and Bonnie.
It’s been ages since I’ve seen them so it was great to get cuddles, which Bonnie is very good at, she even pats your back with her head on your shoulder.
I’ve been driving for 50 years and I hit my first pedestrian (I can think of several more suitable names) today.
Two young men ran between the cars on the opposite side of the road which had ground to a halt in the busy traffic, but the stream of cars I was in was still travelling about 20mph. I slammed by brakes on but hit one of the guys on the leg. He hobbled to the side of the road, gave it a rub and walked off limping. His friend raised his hand and gave me some kind of acknowledgment, like oops, our fault. He looked a bit sheepish.
I drew in to the side as did the poor girl behind me who almost ran into the back of me when I braked. She reassured me that I couldn’t have stopped any quicker and that I was not in any way to blame.
I admit I was a bit shaken, but after a while I drove home again fine.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.