Compressed Air Tanks

Gales blowing all day, fairly dry for the most of it. There was some heavy showers this evening. 

I really didn't want to get up this morning, but I did. Popped by Laura's on my way to work. Late shift in the airport again, and a busy day of passengers. I started on the check-in desk, then moved to meeting and boarding flights. Our Edinburgh flight was delayed, and I got soaked when Aberdeen was boarding. Home on time, and dry walkies with Sammy.  

I went wave watching at lunchtime, but there really wasn't many fascinating waves, mostly blowing flat, with some crashes again the cliffs. The striking reds of the old compressed air tanks caught my eyes on the dull day, framed by the lighthouse buildings. The tanks were used from about 1905 until 1987, when the foghorn went out of use. The foghorn is still blasted twice a year, just as a novelty and keeps the engines working. Taken at Sumburgh Head. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.