Crying in side

I’ve had a very enjoyable month in Mozambique but my visa expires today, so I’m going back to Tanzania. I flew from moody and grey Maputo, landed in Johannesburg in the middle of thunderstorms, and travelled onward to Dar es Salaam, arriving in the early hours.

According to increasingly serious sounding messages both on social media and circulating in the office, Dar es Salaam is suffering from ‘acute water shortages’, and rationing is already happening. I texted my landlady to notify her of my return and asked about the water situation. She said ‘we crying in side’. I braced myself for some unflushable toilet and unwashable body scenarios.

I shall miss Maputo’s vibes until my next visit. Apparently the Rubi Building here in Downtown was once the city’s tallest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.