Armistice Day

My collage is of a postbox topper in High Kelling and two poppies on lampposts in Sheringham. I thought it a very nice touch to see these named poppies on a lot of lampposts near the war memorial. I was in Sheringham to pick up my two new pairs of glasses from Specsavers. When I was choosing and the glasses being measured up I was assisted by a nice lady who was clearly inexperienced and kept having to ask for help by her colleague. The key requirements I said to her were for metal frames, with arms that could be bent around my ears - I hate glasses that slip when I bend forward to take a photo. She served me again for fitting, one pair was adjusted and fitted well, but the other was completely loose. She got her colleague and it turned out that these were a new style with arms that are meant to grip the head and can't be bent as they don't have metal at the end of the arms - something the original assistant hadn't been aware of and I'd have never thought to look for. So I've got the one pair for a few days to check all is ok, another frame has been chosen and measured (with the experienced assistant), then once I'm happy they'll replace the other ones at their cost. This afternoon I fitted a blackout blind in the study - needed for next summer to help keep the heat out, but I can also use it in Winter when it gets dark instead of the curtains which cover the radiator. 

Covid Update
The weekly ONS infection survey of private households up to w/e 1st Nov showed UK cases decreasing in most countries. There's an estimated 1 in 40 with the virus in England (down); 1 in 50 in Scotland (down); 1 in 40 in Wales (steady), and 1 in 45 in NI (down). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.