Castle Acre Priory

The forecasters were predicting today would be the hottest day so far.  I think they were right.  TT started his day with a run before it was too hot.  Madness!!  BB was very unhappy as he hadn’t been able to sleep for the heat, so he basically “chilled” out all day – as best he could in the heat.
 
TT decided we would go to Castle Acre.  We left BB at home and headed off.  While wandering around the ruins of the castle and then the abbey, I felt like I was looking around ruins in Greece  or India, it was that hot.  We had a picnic in the shade of a clump of tress in the abbey grounds and then read our books in the shade.  It was lovely and peaceful as there were hardly any visitors.  We took a detour on the way home and visited Castle Rising – another ruined castle.  It was still hot, but there was more of breeze, which made it more bearable.  We had a stroll around the village and then took a scenic drive home around the coast.
 
I threw a roast chicken and vegetable one dish tea in the oven, and it turned out well, with very little effort.  Later I had a wander around the village.  I saw three hares, or one hare three times.  I’m not sure which.  I came home and watched Detectorists with TT.
 
This is Castle Acre priory.  It must have been incredibly impressive in its day.  The extra is Castle Rising – which would have ben equally impressive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.