Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Stay calm and enjoy the nature around you

Gavin and I are having a run of bad luck - all sorts of things have been going wrong, and the worst of it is the new leak. After yesterday's testing of the possible source of the leak (by turning on taps) more water has poured down the walls and through the ceiling. We are now very certain the leak is from the bathroom upstairs, and from the bath and not the shower - the bath has never been used since we have lived here (it's for the guest room) as guests prefer to shower, so what a nasty surprise that after five years of living in this house we realise the plumbing for the bath has not been done correctly. There is much water damage and it affects the landing, and the adjoining bedroom - and of course the bathroom upstairs will undoubtedly have to be retiled once the leak is fixed.

We have also had a series of smaller problems - my fitbit watch broke (the strap adjoining the watch wore out where it connects so it is now cannot be worn) - I ordered a new one but it seems to be faulty - I have tried resetting it and will see if the problem is fixed. Gavin has lost one earbud from his airpods - but luckily I found out you can order one new earbud and do not have to get a whole new set of airpods. There were many more mishaps too boring to mention, but I always remind myself it could be worse. On top of all this Gavin's aunt died last night (and his uncle - not her husband but her brother in law-  died only 3 weeks ago). Our karma should hopefully change soon...

Forgetting all these problems we went to Bushy Park today, as despite going there frequently I have never been to the woodland gardens. Unfortunately dogs are not allowed in there, so Gavin walked with Xena in the park while I wandered through the gardens with my camera. I got a bit lost and ended up walking in the wrong direction so by the time I met up with him at the café I had walked a couple of miles. I planned to take photos of birds, but ended up taking more of the gardens. In extras one noisy little bird....

This afternoon I managed to buy Christmas presents online for three more people. There are some good deals around due to Black Friday/pre Christmas sales.

I have a lamb casserole simmering in the oven for dinner, I really enjoy cosy evenings at home during winter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.