Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Remembrance Sunday

This morning Gavin walked Xena in the woods while I got myself dressed and ready as when he got back we left to go to the school (the boy's old school where he is chairman of the governors) for the Remembrance Sunday service. It is always extremely well done and the service is sad and poignant for obvious reasons, but it's also sad for us because for all his years that he was at the school Tommy always played the Last Post followed by the Reveille. I remembered those days and felt nostalgic for the pride I felt when he played it so professionally. The lad playing it today struggled a bit with it, it is very daunting playing it in front of so many people, so I am sure he was very nervous.

The address at the service was by Major General Rob Thomson, and he spoke so eloquently about a few of his heroes, one who was a bomb disposal officer in his unit in Afghanistan. I was nearly in tears hearing about the men who gave their life for their country and their fellow soldiers. I enjoy this service as we get to sing hymns like I Vow to Thee My Country which is one of my favourites.

After the service we had lunch at school where we met many past school teachers and it was so interesting hearing about their days teaching some 40 years ago.

When we got back home again we took Xena for another walk. It has been a beautifully sunny weekend, and the late afternoon sunlight on the trees looked so lovely I had to make this my blip rather than the Remembrance Sunday one I had planned. The good weather will change this week as we have more normal weather for November again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.