Inevitable?

The beautiful blue skies made the morning dog walk a pleasure, particularly as I was following the T20 final. Then, after doing some hoovering, I took the bus into Edinburgh. I got off in Morningside to avoid the city centre chaos, and Turfed my way over to Murrayfield.

The first 15 minutes were sensational, with New Zealand going 14-0 up inside 8 minutes. I feared that it would be the prelude to a hammering, but Scotland hit back with two converted tries of their own, and missed further chances to score. With 20 minutes to go, Scotland was 9 points ahead, but then it all went wrong. A penalty for New Zealand, and a yellow card against Scotland, led to a New Zealand try. Although the All Blacks were only a point ahead for a while, victory seemed inevitable, and another try sealed it.

On my way back I called in on K to escape the crowds around Haymarket. Later, when I passed a pub I saw the celebrations on a screen as United scored a late winner against Fulham.

Two out of three wins made for a good day's sport!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.