JanetH

By JanetH

Flying high!

I've seen a few dandelion shots on blip recently which made me have a go at my own yesterday.

Within the comments SeniorMoments referred me back to hers on 27th April, which was beautiful, and encouraged me to have a go with more detail. Others encouraged me to blow it. So I did .... and this was the result.

Ok, maybe it didn't work quite like that! The weather hasn't been as good today and I haven't had chance to go hunting for a blip but late afternoon I needed a break and had half an hour to spare. I was going to try the half blown effect so picked a clock and brought it inside. I stripped half of it and started to play but then accidentally knocked it and all the seeds fell off. So I decided to try photographing them instead.

Well, that was fun. They are, of course, so tiny and they do like to cling together. I tried various different shots. It got frustrating at times when I had got a good composition, started to focus and they suddenly started moving! I discovered that they were prone to static and attracted to the camera lens, which was drawing them like a magnet!

I played around with lighting and white balance too and for this shot forgot to change the whitebalance when I used a different light but I think it makes them look like they are set against a blue sky and are flying high.

Now it's back to work with a meeting this evening ... after I'ver cleared up all the seeds that are all over my dining room. Hope I don't get dandelions growing in the carpet!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.