Two views

Like anyone else, I'm a sucker for views of the Arno. When I asked some friends about ideas for cultural activities in Florence at present (in fact, I've had zero time for these....), someone told me the sunsets had been amazing recently.

The last time I was here in November (with Mr A, on the train, having come via Switzerland), there was exceptionally high water. That blip is taken from the Ponte Vecchio looking at the Ponte Santa Trinita. This is from the Ponte Santa Trinita, looking downstream. In turn, I took a blip of the Ponte Vecchio from the Ponte Santa Trinita the following day as the water was going down. That's mirrored in the extra here.

There's been a bit of rain and even thundery weather for the last couple of days, and indeed a couple of people including JDz are feeling a bit under the weather because of the weather changes. The air pressure has certainly changed, and I know a lot of people are sensitive to this. I hung around the hotel in the morning, as I had to do several calls, plus I needed to finalise some documents and send them back to Edinburgh by email. Later on, I headed out for a coffee and a useful catch up with JDz, and thereafter I wandered down to the Arno to catch the dusk and get my steps. Not an amazing sunset, but perfectly acceptable.

Now I'm doing an early blip as I'm going out again for supper in about 30 minutes, so it seemed a good idea to blip now, rather than waiting for when I get back, or doing it tomorrow morning which will be a rush to get ready for the conference. I'm certainly not going to improve on these pictures during the evening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.