Christmas Market

Today I met two of my sisters in Ely for the Christmas Gift and Food Fair. It was an atrocious day weather wise, in total I drove for three hours in mostly heavy rain, with lots of spray and gusty wind. My sisters were on a coach trip, so they had a more relaxing trip. I route matched them as soon at they arrived at 10:30 to The Almonry and we got one of the last available tables downstairs. We had hot chocolate and cake, then a hot sausage roll once the kitchens opened. When we went out at noon there were lots of people queueing outside in the cold and rain to get in. We quickly went round the outside stalls, lots of mud outside of the temporary pathways and we got dripped on from the awnings when we stopped to look at anything, and this is the first day. I was ok as I was wearing walking boots and waterproof trousers, jacket and hat. At the cathedral they let us in about 25 mins early for our 1pm ticket. As people didn’t want to be outside shopping, it was heaving inside and quite difficult to get to the stalls. Then we went round the outside food market which was pretty deserted, I felt so sorry for the outdoor stallholders. I only bought some cheese and fudge all day, but it was lovely to catch up with my sisters. Although I’m not religious, it did make me slightly uncomfortable to see all this Xmas shopping going on in a cathedral. All my waterproofs and bag are now draped in front of radiators to dry out. Think I might have some tomato soup now to warm me up!!! According to my weather station, we’ve had 2 inches of rain so far today - just over our normal total for the whole month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.