New Religion

As some of you know I recently moved to Haarlem and am only started to get to know the town and the people. Just last saturday I met a local advertising guy via via and he told me of a nice little local beer brand with expansion ambitions, I must say... he enthusiasm made me curious, so I decided to visit the brewery.

In all of my previous years as Creative Director for mayor international advertising agencies I seldom encountered brands with so many authentic values that you just feel the urge to want to step in and help it to the next level.

Today I found one of these rare communication pearls... Jopen Beer

'Jopen' is a mediaeval beer that origins from Haarlem and is brewed in an actual church, the only one in the whole of western Europe the brewer - Robbert - told me with pride.

You can watch Robbert brew all the different varieties in the kettles in the church, as is also a bar / restaurant nicely divided by a glass wall.

So my fellow Blippers, if there is a new goal for a pilgrimage, it's not Lourdes.... it's The Jopen Church in Haarlem (Shot here with God sent sun rays for even nicer light ;-)
Just mail me at hjarald@xs4all.nl and I'll gladly join you for a 'baptism' ;-)

Cheers!

Hjarald

ps1. Robbert was upstairs for lunch, but if you press the 'L' key you can have a sneak peek at his work domain ;-)

ps2. A nice anecdote Robbert told me.
The Latin quote on the wall reads: 'Cerevisia argumentum est Dei amoris nostri volentis nos felices esse'
which translates into:
'Beer is the sign that God loves us and wants us to be happy.'

It's claimed to be said by Benjamin Franklin just before he commenced writing the 'First Constitution'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.