A memory

I came across this photo today while looking for something else and thought you might enjoy seeing it. The young woman on the right is my grandmother Sarah and the other two women are cousins she was visiting in (I believe) Scotland. This would have been right around the turn of the 20th century and it was an adventure for a Jewish girl from Poland.

I never got to know her very well, as her English was poor, but I loved her very much and knew she loved me.  Whenever we would come to her house to visit, she would  make pickled lox just for me because she knew how much I enjoyed it. She died when I was fourteen after years of decline due to intractable depression and I thought my heart would break. For years, whenever I thought of her, I would get tears in my eyes.

I like to look at this photo of her when she was happy and life still held promise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.