After the Rain

I can’t remember when we last had 2 consecutive days of heavy rain. It’s been a really miserable 48 hours in what seemed permanent twilight. 
My activities have been severely curtailed, but I had to don protective gear and make my way down to the café at the National Gallery to meet up with the Maggie’s group after lunch. It was like walking down a river bed to reach Princes Street, every sloping surface  running with water. 

Parts of Edinburgh were under water and as for the trains to London, it was chaos. Most of the trains were turned back because of flooding on the line between Edinburgh and Newcastle. My swimming buddy, Sue, London bound was turned back with her three Christmas Cakes but is now with them on the west coast line. They will have a tale to tell when they arrive at their destination tonight at least 6hours late.

The rain stopped at some point in the afternoon and as I walked home up the Mound the sky looked beautiful to the west in the setting sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.