Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Handsome Boy

Another cold, blustery day and someone (me) isn't feeling like spending a lot of time outside.  Much more tempting to be inside by the fire.  Never the less, I bundled up and took Jax for a short walk on the Lane and some fetch in the back yard.  I even had the presence of mind to bring a proper camera outside for the game of fetch.  I had him sit and stay so I could get a nice shot of him, including his silly ears.  He has grown into such a serious looking dog, hasn't he?  And looks are SO deceiving.  

Interesting observation today - I saw a gray squirrel ripping bark off a tree in the woods and carrying it into another tree for his/her nest.  I've seen them taking big mouthfuls of leaves but never tree bark fresh-off-the-tree before.  It was pretty funny watching the squirrel trying to rip the bark off - at one point it had hold of a strip at least a foot long which was still firmly attached to the tree.  The funny things you see.  

The bird feeders are super busy today and I also saw lots of birds eating from seed heads at the edge of the woods.  There is a large flock of house finches out there, in addition to all the regular birds.  I keep watching for the illusive Evening Grosbeaks, but so far no luck.  

I think dark with coconut today.  Yum.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.