Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just Because

Often thought of as harbingers of spring, the American Robin (actually in the thrush family and no relation to the European Robin) can be found year-round throughout almost all of North America, including Alaska and Canada.  In winter, some birds move further south into Florida and Mexico and even into Central America while others stay wherever they find food.  We tend to think of them in terms of hunting worms in our suburban lawns, but actually robins eat a wide variety of insects and spiders as well as berries.  

This happens to be a female, identified by her less intense colors on the breast and lighter face tone.  Surprisingly, she perched very close to me while I was sitting outside for a while today.  I was able to slowly move my lens and get some good shots from about 10-12 feet before she flew off into the woods.  Little moments.

Jax has had quite the day.  First of all, there was lots of commotion this morning as Hubs finished loading all his race gear and food into our RV.  Then we waved him off as he set off down the lane, headed towards the racetrack in South Jersey, about 3.5 hours away.  Then, Chewy delivered a box filled with treats and toys.  I am going to only give him a couple of toys each day, and rotate them so he doesn't get bored.  One of the toys was a giant lamb - it's almost as big as he is and he proceeded to run all over the house with it, even up the stairs.  He got really excited, needless to say.  And at that moment, Charlie (our ginger tabby) decided to dart past him to run upstairs.  In spite of my sharp NO, Jax took off in pursuit.  I am not totally sure what happened next but I heard Jax give two  piteous yelps and found him cowering on his belly at the top of the stairs looking totally terrified.  And with a little dribble of pee under him. No blood, but I think the point has been made.  Charlie was under our bed by then, refusing to come out (a later full exam showed him to be perfectly fine). This may be the lesson Jax needed to learn from Charlie.  He already gives Phoebe wide berth.  

I also gave Jax some crate time today as I had to run some errands (including dropping a poop sample at the vet - yuck).  He was barking before I got out the door but when I returned about 90 minutes later he was laying quietly in his crate.  We'll just do this every day until he learns that it's nothing to fear.  When he came out, he was all wiggles and kisses.  

Missing Hubs already, but hoping he has a really great time at the track this weekend.  This car has been a lot of trouble so they really haven't been able to get much racing in the last 2 years - hopefully this will be a good run.  

Dark with fruit today.  And I had two squares because I deserve it.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.