NightOwl45

By NightOwl45

Productive Friday

Woke up at 6am this morning due to my ongoing fibromyalgia flare but was determined to go to my hair appointment and needed a small food shop.

My appointment was at noon so I paced myself all morning and went along, a new hairdresser. She was absolutely lovely and I’m really pleased with my wash, cut and blow dry. I usually get it curled but today decided to get it straightened for a wee change.

I nipped into Greggs to buy a coffee and sausage roll for a guy sitting in the doorway of what was once Evans. I’ve spoke to him before when I gave him a sandwich but we had a lengthier chat today and he told me about a bit about his life.

I asked him for his permission to snap a Blip (today’s main photo) and we got talking about society. Thankfully, he is not homeless on the streets and is detoxing from drugs. He told me was originally from Stranraer and had moved up to Edinburgh as his addiction took hold. He spoke with that beautiful “Galloway Irish” accent.

He is transgender and has been attacked and mocked by passers by including a primary school age boy who harassed him and filmed him using his smartphone. 

He was a very intelligent guy and I was glad I stopped to speak with him. He thanked me for treating him like a human being. I told him - you have no need to be thankful. I really hope him and his male partner (who is in poor health and has lost his job as a result) flourish in life. 

I always wish I could do more for people. If I had money, I would love to help addicts attend rehab, get back on their feet and live happy, fulfilling lives.

Today’s extras - my freshly cut hair, a cup of coffee to sit and rest my legs, a selfie frame set up in the local shopping centre and another bike from the window of the vintage shop, this time with a mini Christmas tree in the basket.

I hope I’m not too sore and fatigued tomorrow following today’s exertions. I’m exhausted tonight but will rest with my heat pad. Early night for me!

I hope you’ve all had a fabulous Friday and have a wonderful weekend. 

Thanks as always for all your comments, kind hopes for my pain, stars, follows and hearts :) xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.