OUR HOUSE

We had a great service at Church this morning, but when we came out it was raining hard, so we decided to come straight home.  I had taken a few shots of our house before we left earlier, and was glad I had.  It has been raining on and off for most of the afternoon, so I decided to do a declutter in our lounge, which was long overdue - and I still haven’t finished but decided to stop for a while to do my Blip.

The reason for showing you a shot of our house - and of course, it has been fartnarkled using one of my apps - is because I have set myself a little challenge.  You may remember that yesterday when we were visiting our friends, Mr. & Mrs. T. they gave me a very large box of Lindt chocolates and I’m not kidding, I could have polished them off in the twinkling of an eye - but that would have been very greedy and I would probably have been very sick - so I decided that I would keep them until Christmas, much to the amusement of certain so-called “friends”, who obviously know that I am a chocoholic and doubted that I could do that!  The Silly Saturday Gang said that if I managed this, they would give £10 to charity and  a few other friends said the same.  

So, as Mr. HCB and I are blessed to live in a house like this - and I rather like the mosaic pattern in my favourite colour - with a beautiful garden, giving the money pledged to a charity that helps the homeless, especially at Christmas, seemed the obvious thing to do, so I’m determined to do it!

I then decided that if I was going to keep to this pledge and an added one of not eating ANY chocolate before Christmas, I had to hold myself accountable, so I put this on my Facebook page last night:

My name is Maureen and I’m a chocoholic! 
I never give up chocolate for Lent - because that’s not what it’s about for me BUT in today’s Blip the Silly Saturday Gang said if I could go until Christmas WITHOUT opening this box of Lindt chocolates, they would give £10 to charity. Gill, another friend, who knows about my addiction said she would give me £10 for charity if I manage this, as did my husband and yet another friend, Amanda P.
So, I am challenging myself NOT to eat these and, I also decided, not to eat any other chocolate until Christmas Day - and wanted to document it. I have decided to give the proceeds to a charity that cares for the homeless, because they are most vulnerable at Christmas - feel free to dib in if you would like to - it will be hard BUT I CAN DO THIS!! M xx 
PS I might even lose some weight, which would be a bonus!  

If you look in the extras, you will see JHTed and Elvis the Elf watching over the box of Lindt chocolates and I have no doubt that Mr. HCB will be watching me and that box closely too!

Guess for the next 34 days, I’m going to have to be really strict - this is definitely not one of my strengths but I know a friend who could do this:

“Strength is the capacity to break a chocolate bar 
     into four pieces with your bare hands – 
          and then eat just one of the pieces.”
Judith Viorst


P.S.  Mr. T. made me laugh - he told Mrs. T that if I had given up eating chocolate until Christmas, I could visit every day, because he knew that his chocolate stash was safe!  How cheeky is that?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.