Loch an Eilein, Rothiemurchus Estate

We had such a good time yesterday. After coffee in Fortrose with J. we went on to Rosemarkie and walked to Chanonry Point. No dolphins but some squablesome birds which looked like terns. I thought they'd all be away by now.

This morning saw another beautiful dawn at Clachnaharry  which I have added as an extra as I have a few left. I was sorry to pack up the cottage but needs must and we had to be out by 10:00.

We drove down the A9 and stopped at Rothiemurchus. Did the walk round Loch an Eilein - about 3 miles through magnificent Scots pine trees and birches. Had a bowl of soup and a further snack before we left for home. I fell asleep till nearly Pitlochry when I took over the driving. The sun was blazing which made driving a bit tricky. Home before dark.

I saw the first snow of the winter - a very light dusting on the tops of the Cairngorms. Another extra, just for the record.

What a great break we've had. The next few weeks are, inevitably, busy ones and this has been a very good change of scene and pace before it all starts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.