KCNQ2Haiku

By KCNQ2Haiku

Lake sunset

Ben slept through the night,
always worthy of mention!
Day of walks and rain.

Always a shock to find Ben has slept right through the night, so that was a good start to the day.  Other than that, we've dodged the rain and had some nice walks.  Fetched some food from the local shops via the brook and the fields, Ben was anxious as they didn't have avocado.  You'd think he'd be able to shake it off when something on the list isn't available but it's like his brain can't let it go.  So that was a bit stressful but we managed.  Mr KCNQ2Haiku's mum and dad brought older teen home for us, so I did some bacon sandwiches and made some cookies.  Good to have him home and nice to see them too :-)
After lunch I had to pop for an MRI scan on my knee (it's been bothering me for a couple of years and I've finally got around to progressing something). MRIs are noisy, aren't they?!? I was pleased to get a pat on the back for staying nice and still though, I'm a sucker for praise :-D
On the way home I nipped for an avocado and it was tipping with rain.  My heart sank as I knew Ben was planning a walk around the lake.  I tried to dissuade him when I got back but he was definitely 'still keen'.  Obviously as the parent I could have said no! Ha! But I figured, what's a bit of rain?!?  It gets us out and potentially wears him out after his good night's sleep, so that he will sleep again!  As it happened the weather really cleared when we got there, we walked along the river and dropped down to the lake, the sun was going down and this was a just a phone photo but it was so pretty.  It's not even from my phone as I had inconveniently left it in my handbag from the MRI trip, I hadn't transferred it to my usual 'walking about with Ben at the weekend' rucksack.  Sigh.  The one good thing about Ben's diabetes is it means he has to carry (or we do!) a phone that connects via bluetooth to his Dexcom Continuous Glucose Monitor, so at least if I'm with him, I'm never without a camera!!
Anyway, home now, it's still wet.  He's playing his computer simulator game and all seems to be well.  Can't believe another week starts tomorrow :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.