Late Night Extra

The few pictures I took during the day didn't amount to much but a late night peep in the greenhouse revealed that the Massonia pustulata that I showed in bud a few days ago has begun to show off its flower.   This is a young bulb, the inflorescence will be larger in years to come.

The day started bright but by the time I was ready to go out on a dog walk there was thunder in the air.   Sometimes these storms stay over the sea .... this one didn't.  We all got thoroughly soaked and I felt rather chagrined having caused the delay setting out by my lazy start to the day!

Once again at pottery this afternoon, the time simply flew by.  My thumb pot and slab built vase are now dry enough for firing this week so today I worked on a new piece using a different technique, coiling.   This starts with the very satisfying job of extruding 'sausages' of clay which can then be wound around, building up from a flat base.   Sounds easy but every point of contact as you build must be prepared by scarifying the two surfaces and then pressed together.   It's a work in progress and might well feature here in due course.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.