Yuck or yum?

Craving a green salad for the evening meal I wandered out at dusk to see what I could forage: rocket leaves from the greenhouse (where it grows independently all year), brassica and chard tips in the veg garden, sheep's sorrel, sow thistle and wall pennywort from round about. On my way back through the neglected area where we dump vegetation that's surplus to requirement I caught sight of something that stopped me in my tracks. The old yucca plant that I long ago banished from the garden  on account of the lethal spikes at the end of its leaves (not for nothing is it known as Spanish dagger)  has produced an enormous flower stem covered with creamy pink-tipped buds and blossoms. Native to the arid areas of North America and the Caribbean it's nevertheless thriving here in wet West  Wales, possibly benefitting from the mortal remains of Jemima and Bottle (goat and sheep) whose graves lie close by. 

What's more, yucca flowers are edible! I propose to sample them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.