The horror, the horror

No, not Joseph Conrad this time

MrH returned briefly from a North Carolina at the weekend and coped very well despite the jet lag. He traveled off to Ireland on Monday morning so is certainly very busy.

One of the big cupboards in the kitchen needed cleaning and sorting. It’s the only one that hasn’t been tidied well but I’d been asked to leave it alone (months ago) on the basis that MrH had fitted lots of things in it Jenga style!

After the lovely cooking spree at the weekend I realised that the cupboard in question was where the juicing machine had disappeared pre-Covid. I discovered my French soup bowls too. I also found out it was where many sweet treats (brought back from MrH’s travels over the years) are stored. Licorice from Finland, chocolate from France and chewy toffee things from America. I found 2 packets of bubblegum from Korea (my stuff!)

I washed the cupboard out with soap and water, put some of the estranged glassware and crockery in the dishwasher for a refresh and sorted the mass of sweet treats into containers so they can be stored in more appropriate cupboards. Not in the kitchen.

The main kitchen cupboard will now be baking ingredients snd some glassware/crockery. I can’t be battling past flumps and toffees trying to find soup bowls or flour.

I hope MrH likes the change as I’m sure this way he can actually see what he has in terms of sweets and there’s less risk of things going off.

The only item of concern I found in the cupboard was a rather rusty tin I found right at the back, to be honest I was expecting to find more than one offending item.

This blip is the lid! Inside was a very small amount of porridge oats from Ireland. I think the tin was so lovely we had decided to keep it and it was so lightweight we thought it was empty! The couple of cms of old oats had rotted and caused the tin, mainly the lid to rust! It wasn’t a nice find at all. Cleaned and recycled now though!

With the green lights that shine under the kitchen cupboards this lid looks like an aurora borealis and the rust looks like forest trees (well to me anyways),

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.