Autumn

Yesterday a Hitchcock sized swarm of starlings descended on the sparrows feeders, driving the sparrows off. I did put tape on the old feeders to stop the starlings, and it worked. But now the starlings have discovered my new fatball feeders...

I was in my nice warm comfy bed with a very large living fur blanket. I was not moving. The sparrows were going to have to sort this out themselves. And they did. The sparrows regrouped and edged along all the branches towards the starlings, who suddenly found themselves outnumbered by sparrows. And one by one the sparrows got back on the fatball feeders, thus pushing the starlings away. 

Did the starlings come back? Yes, but not so many of them. And the sparrows did the same strategy again, and drove them off.

What happens today? We shall see...

And what did Mrs Bluetit and Mr GreatTit and Mr Robin do in all this? 
They just went over to the half coconut full of suet. They are able to hang on to that. 

Ghost cat number two is feeding under the swing. Jade has already eaten the best bits first from those dishes an hour ago, she is now on the swing like Midnight used to be, overseeing the cat diner. Jade is now becoming a nice solid cat. She has built up her winter fat reserves.

Midnight did not go out last night, not to the back garden (the trail camera told me), so Jade got the swing all night, but she is very good at tucking herself away, so you cannot see her. Last few nights the trail camera has recorded below freezing temperatures. I did make a temporary scarecrow type figure to replace Big Ted. But it is pathetic to look at, however Jade pushes herself into that and it provides warmth. I still have plans for a more imposing figure which will be seat belted to the back of the swing so that darned badger KissyKissy will not be able to pull it off the swing and pummel it. Nothing at the charity shops in the way of large toys...

Midnight is enjoying the warmth from my heated pad over my tummy. I got cold seeing to the animals first and sorting out the outside cat dishes, and fatballs.


I am still catching up on my trail camera videos, this is from about a week ago.

Cat, Midnight, on the swing while wind chimes play. And there are other noises. I am not sure what they are because I am deaf. I cannot identify the noises. I would love to know what he is looking upwards at... the foxes and badgers look up at the same spot...


https://youtu.be/aYvjIAkgBDM 


Creative is autumn done in Procreate.
I did several versions of this, and liked the earlier prettier, more colourful, ethereal version. But sadly  I had not saved them when I thought I had...
So, you get this overworked one...
9am now.
Time for a nap with that cat, who is already twitching in his dreams.
The tea flask is besides me...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.