Frozen Worlds of Ice and Fire

It was 17 degrees F on this morning in frigid central Pennsylvania, and of course, you know what that meant: time to go out in the backyard and make some frozen bubbles! I made a fresh mix, which was roughly 4 parts dish detergent (with a slight blue tinge), 1 part water, and a dash or two of clear Karo corn syrup.

It was the very first frozen bubble session of the winter, and what a fine time I had. I took along out a couple of shiny leaves, a little Snoopy figurine, and some clear plastic lids, to blow my bubbles onto. I arrived outdoors just as the light did, and I was out for roughly half an hour.

I also blew bubbles directly onto the snow and onto some colorful punk growing on my tree stump. (Just slime it down first with bubble mix; your bubble will sit on ANYthing!)

You may see one photo above and two in the extras. Two of my photos are of single bubbles. One is of a multiple-bubble set, in which each bubble is freezing at its own rate. You can see the punk in the above photo and in one in the extras. Yellow leaves in the background gave us some additional ground color.

First, the surface of the bubble begins to move and spin, like it is the world reborn: the fresh Earth trying to form continents out of nothing! And then the crystals begin. They often start at the bottom and work their way up. As the freezing progresses, the bubble turns from clear to opaque.

On the photography end, I shoot everything in super vivid, which saturates my color. My only photo editing program is Photos on my Mac, and I bump up the brilliance, black point, saturation, and definition afterwards. How I love to gild the lily, and my little pal Snoopy did too!

I'll include below the link to my canonical set of frozen bubble tips, and to wrap things up, here are a couple of songs to go with my bubbles. I can't even begin to explain this in words but the process always helps me understand better the pure joy of what it must be like to be the Creator, making new worlds and watching them spin into life.  :-)

My soundtrack songs are these:
Pat Benatar, Fire and Ice.
Foreigner, Cold as Ice.
Fernando Ortega, Creation Song.

Bonus: the canonical frozen bubble link.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.