Jillian's Journal

By Daring2Go

Mouse in the House!

Wee, sleekit, cow'rin, tim'rous beastie,
O, what a panic's in thy breastie! Robbie Burns


Well I had to put that quote in - what else! It was indeed a terrifying mouse, and I was so loath to run and chase it, with murdering plough-staff that I took off (literally) today, down to Arrowtown to visit my daughter and her family. Anything rather than face that mouse! LOL Please excuse the terrible pics of HRH Mouse. Kinda grainy and arty though.

The main pic above shows Aoraki / Mount Cook, which is the highest mountain in New Zealand, reaching 3,754 metres (12,316 ft).[1] It lies in the Southern Alps, the mountain range which runs the length of the South Island. Lake Tekapo runs through the middle of the image. I really bombed out getting this photo, as I was sure it was Mt Aspiring, and that I was going to be able to blip it and say I'd stood on top. But no, a little further on I saw L.Hawea, and had to swallow my pride; I'd got it wrong! But of course they look similar from up there, peeping through the clouds - well, no, not really. Not when you look properly - I obviously hadn't!

Took me 7.5 hours to get from Christchurch airport to Queenstown airport, and I didn't drive. Most of the time was spent at Christchurch airport waiting for the fog to clear!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.