I don't think I mentioned it but last week after the back garden was finished I noticed a crack... Across the sill of the patio door... That's only two years old... Damn!

The end cap, or whatever it's called, was on the blocks near the crack and I'd asked the bloke with good English if he knew what had happened. He said it was probably the digger, it wasn't him! Fair enough, I believed him. I sent a text to bossman and he phoned me, telling me not to worry, we'd discuss it when I was back from the Lakes. Given that I still owe bossman over £8,000 I've got some leverage. 

Yesterday I got in touch with Anglian, who installed the patio door (the house already had their windows installed and I liked them), uploaded photos of the damage and this morning I received an email saying they'd be in touch very soon with an estimate of what it would cost to repair or replace. Excellent. 

I'm not sure if I'll have it replaced or whether I'll just Superglue, but the crack certainly looks more obvious than it did last Thursday. On the other hand it won't affect the integrity of the doors, it's just cosmetic, but bossman should reduce the bill by an appropriate amount. Lol, I can be very bloody minded, and sometimes it's useful!

Today I had friend Jan here for lunch (pork, chorizo, onion, garlic, bay leaf, green lentils and potato with brocoli - delicious!) She loved the garden, but pointed out that there should be drainage holes in the retaining wall. How true, and I remembered that I'd been told there would be some, so that's another thing to rectify. 

Yoga shortly, I think I need it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.