Gone!

This photo was actually taken yesterday but, with so much else going on, I did not have a chance to tell the story properly and I have been thinking about it today, so it is still relevant.

I don’t know Newcastle very well but over the last few years I did get to know one little part of it - Third Floor of Commercial Union House on Pilgrim Street. At least once a week, almost every week, I would be there for Explore to attend lectures and talks, take part in discussions etc. We had three rooms, each painted in different colours and each having a different character and views onto the streets of the city. Then, in the centre, was a lounge area with a strange assortment of seats and was where we used to gather before and between sessions to chat or catch up with reading. I used to love arriving, either being dropped off or having walked up from the station, and looking forward to what the day would bring. I knew those rooms and that building so well 

 . . . and now it is gone!

The Brutalist building, sometimes named as the ugliest building in the city. (see Extra), but which held many happy memories for me, has been demolished and yesterday I was just looking at an empty space where it had been. I am sad about it but I imagine many will be happy to see it gone. The whole area is currently a huge demolition site and apparently there will eventually be an HMRC building, a massive office site with 9,000 staff. All part of the regeneration of this area of Newcastle. 

It’s funny how a building can hold memories, be a part of your life and then be gone. I pondered that space for a long while yesterday. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.