The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

The long ground, Cainscross, Stroud

The past few days have been eventful, to say the least.
On Sunday I got up early and did all the chores whilst waiting for GG to come and walk. Eventually I checked my phone and realised she wasn't coming, she was still poorly. No problem! I walked to town, chatting to GG on the phone as I went, and soon arrived at the church in the centre.

There was supposed to be a circus festival at the church, but when I checked the noticeboard I found that I'd arrived in time for Sunday praise. I noticed a crowd of people around the door, including a steward. Decided to go inside, and someone handed me a programme as I went in. As I took it, I felt a searing pain  in my finger and saw what looked like a thorn sticking out. I attracted the attention of the steward, and he fetched a First Aider.

I begged the First Aider to take the thing out of my finger, because it hurt so much, and I saved the 'thorn' in some gauze. I must have been in shock after that because I was sweating profusely, demanding a sick bowl (as if they had a stack of them in church!), lying down on a stone ledge, and seeing spots and flashes....at one point I saw a vicar looming over me. Not unusual in a church, I suppose.

My phone still worked, so I called Steve, but then the team sent a spotter out to the car park to advise him to drive up to the gates so I wouldn't have to walk far. Got to the car, then the hospital, repeated my spiel about seeing things and needing to lie down, so I got a side room. Must have been there for about an hour but my vital signs were good, and paracetamol was eventually given for the pain. They sent me home, having examined the 'thorn' and decided it was the stinger from a honey bee. I've googled the images and realised that what I first saw was the venom sac.

Got home, went to bed, picked up my phone, and the screen went black! Nothing at all made a difference, couldn't do a thing with it. Removed it from its case and found the case full of water. Wtf?  Googled 'black screen of death',  threw it in a bag of rice, and went out to catch the minibus to a classical concert in Nailsworth.

Sat upstairs in the gallery with four others of the gang, but as the first violinist began to introduce the third piece, there was a spot of bother in our row as one of the group attempted to leave her bench seat, get out of the gallery and down the corkscrew staircase. As the lady is in her eighties and had heart trouble, I was concerned, but two of our group went downstairs with her, so I stayed put, so as not to further inconvenience other concert goers.

No sound of ambulance sirens was heard, thank goodness, and when we descended after the concert the person  had stopped 'feeling funny', and was able to join us for tea. Eleven of our group attended, overall; I was pleased that I could help people get out and about again.

After we got home, the phone still wasn't working. This was a blow, but the final surprise of the day was reserved for dinner time, when a a loud bang from the microwave anoounced the explosion of a beautiful  bowl that I'd been pre-warming.

Enough already!

PS it's Wednesday and I'm typing this from my phone. It does work, though intermittently. 

I will never, ever criticise anyone again (even inwardly) for 'making a fuss' about a bee sting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.