Masquerade

I was a very warm and sticky day.  The peak temperate recorded outside the house was 29.9 degrees. When I look outside the window,  I am greeting by a slightly overcast view which is very much at odds with the feeling. My office got warm and quite uncomfortable but, for some reason, I didn’t put the fan on. I guess it gradually creeped up on me because I felt warmer towards the end of the day when the temperate was already cooler.

I am happy that I managed to get my 4th walk in a row done this morning. I am hopeful that I can recreate the habit that I seem to have lost. Because I was out the house much later than I would have liked to, I did a shortened version of the walk around Cannon Hill Common.  As it tuned out, somebody in front of me had the same idea and I felt like a bit of a stalker until we parted ways after about 25 minutes at the bottom of the field.

Bananarama have released a new album, Masquerade, described as Bananarama’s best album since their 1987 hits-packed, career-high Wow!. When we saw them at Kew we went straight home and bought tickets to their album launch set at Lafayette which is a smallish club/gig space in the King’s Cross area. It was really busy when we got here but we secured a decent pitch on the balcony and got the drinks in.

The concert was excellent. The album is really good and I think Rob became a convert. Bananarama themselves were funny and it was all in good spirits. There was a Q&A part way through and both PY and Mark had their questions answered. Then there were some more songs before the whole thing was over by 10pm - leaving us all in a great, party mood.

We went back to the pub where we met and ordered some more wine. Eventually, we got an Uber home but, by then, I already knew I was quite drunk. The wine had gone to my head: a combination of too much and not food since lunchtime.  I will never learn.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.