The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Tastes Like Bacon

... So I am told, not tried one myself.

We had half a dozen starlings appear on our back lawn yesterday evening. They were collecting worms for some hungry chicks somewhere in Tonyrefail. So I bought some dried ones from the pet shop and put them to soak to put out for them should they come back.

You should soak them in some warm water at this time of year as the young chicks only source of liquid is only from the food they are brought by their parents.

I am not actually sure why I put them in a cup of water, they would have soaked just as well outside in the rain that has been lashing down since lunchtime.

It's topical that starlings are mentioned today, my one year ago blip is one of my favourites of the mother starling being harangued by the two fledglings. Another sign on how far we are behind nature wise this year. Not seen a fledgling this spring yet. One of my most viewed blips is one of a sea of mealworms I did right at the beginning of this journal.

Hoping it clears up a bit weather wise ... I want to go out somewhere tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.