The Royal Family

Two of the three images I've uploaded today are full frame, because the backgrounds were so delightfully filled with gorgeous negative space . The third (portrait crop of a landscape frame) was a definite keeper because of the way the camera (rather than the photographer) had managed the high contrast of low bright sunshine. And I have seven extras remaining... :-)

I went with the female for my main shot. She landed so close to me that she infringed the minimum focus distance of the Hubble, and I had to move back. But I could have reached out to touch here - not that she would have had any of that nonsense, of course. I focused manually, and I think it shows. I need to do more of that; finding the shot in auto, then finessing it.

Still no useable shots of Kingfishers in Flight (KIF), though. And certainly I'm nowhere near ready for catching the bird catching the fish. But give me time... Go large and check out the female (main) eye, staring into the river below. Who knew they were green?

Technical note. These are the first shots with the Hubble at firmware v0.2
1/1600s, 600mm at f6.3 and ISO3200

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.