Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Fallow buck

Last night I had such bad traffic on the M25 to get to the school to see the play - there had been an accident and at one point we just sat on the motorway not moving at all. I was just about to give up hope of getting there to see the show when the traffic suddenly started clearing again and the expected time of arrival as per my satnav reduced from half an hour after the play started, to 20 minutes before!

I was very pleased I got to see the performance of Les Miserables as it was excellent. They had decided to do a pared down version of it, so all the cast were not wearing microphones and the performance was done in the round in the theatre, with very simple backdrops. The talent was incredible, one of the stars of the show was a boy of 15 years old! I was in tears a few times during the performance and had to tell myself to get a grip - but then after the show the headmaster confessed he had also been in tears!

Today was beautifully sunny and bright - Xena went out with P the dogwalker and had fun running around with her doggy pals. I went grocery shopping and each week I am appalled at how prices have risen, and sizes have shrunk. I bought a punnet of strawberries today and usually it is fully packed, today I could easily count the number of strawberries in the container and it was only about 8! Thankfully they had plenty of eggs, I have read reports of Tesco and Sainsburys not having any eggs but Waitrose has not had a shortage at all. The shortage is due to avian bird flu and supermarkets not wanting to pay farmers the increased prices due to their increased costs - maybe Waitrose do pay them properly which is why they have stock?

After lunch I decided to go to Bushy Park as it was still so lovely and sunny - I took Xena with me but left her in the car for about 10 minutes while I photographed some deer and birds, and then went back to get her for a walk. She loved her walk as there are such interesting smells there.

Tonight I had a craving for good Indian food, so we are getting Indian take away from a very good local restaurant. I read that three restaurants in Surrey have been voted as the best in the county, and this is one of them - its excellent Indian food as opposed to gloopy, greasy curries that all look the same.

Adam sent a WhatsApp yesterday of the sun rising over the Cambridge Lido pool where he had just finished swimming, it was 8C and he swims without a wetsuit! He does need to run around Jesus Green afterwards to get his core body temperature up again. I could never cope with that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.