An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Book nook...

Backblip

Felt so sad today as it was my friend P's mum's funeral and we couldn't go as Alan was getting his flu and covid vaccines.  One of us has to be with him to give consent to the jags, as his legal Welfare Guardian.  I'm not driving at the moment due to arthritic knee and hip meaning I couldn't safely make an emergency stop, so David headed off to Perth with Alan and Penny just before midday.

Thankfully I was able to join E's funeral online and hear P and S's wonderful tributes to their mum.  I am so glad I was home alone and not wearing mascara.  P, you both did your mum proud.  What a wonderful woman she was and it was a privilege to count her as a friend.  Her kindness and sense of humour and support of my art work won't be forgotten.  I look forward to seeing you soon so I can hug you in person.

David, Penny and Alan arrived back just after 2.30pm.  Alan was fine after his jags and they'd done a little Christmas shopping before heading home.  

David said they were nearly home without Alan having his vaccinations as when David confirmed he was Alan's legal Welfare Guardian, the nurse asked for proof!  We've never been asked for proof before!  Of course D didn't have any.  Eventually after a 10 minute trawl through his emails on his phone, he found correspondence that was acceptable and the vaccinations went ahead!  

We were just about to settle down to a coffee when the doorbell rang and John and Norma were on the doorstep.  Heading home from a short break in Montrose they popped in on the off chance we'd be in.  It was lovely to see them.  

I persuaded them to stay for dinner then to stay over, as I worry about John driving  home from here in the dark and rain.  He's very good for 85 but there's no point in making a risky journey when not needed.  

We had a lovely evening with them, they are both so funny.  Lola and Alan were delighted to see them.  John had a wee seat in the book nook as he loves that chair, so grabbed my blip :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.