Living my dream

By Mima

Scarlet

Despite still being very small, the scarlet runner plants have started to flower. This is early.

Also early is the first (small) pick of strawberries which I enjoyed for dessert this evening.

I had a long video call with lovely #2 brother and #3 brother this morning. It always knocks the stuffing out of me to see how dementia is taking #3 brother away from us. He had a couple of surprising lucid moments today, but most of the time he was somewhere else.

#2 brother and his wife have had him at their place for a few days and have given him heaps of stimulation which seems to be beneficial, keeping the hallucinations in the background. They really are wonderful with him.

#1 brother is spending a couple of nights with him at home now, so that some jobs can be done and he can try to organise additional support.

It’s so hard to get good services for him with the current state of the health service in England. As if it isn’t hard enough having vascular dementia. It’s probably just as well #3 brother is largely unaware of what’s going on.

I took Bean for a long walk after the chat, then it was back home to mess about with a couple of loaves of sourdough, to be baked tomorrow morning.

I’m looking after animals (dogs, chooks, sheep, horse) for my neighbours this weekend. I enjoy doing it when it’s sunny. I do not enjoy it in cold rain!

The weather started sunny, then turned to custard. It’s rained all afternoon and there are road snow warnings for the high country passes tonight, as a southerly surge heads our way. Typical spring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.