I took a cup of tea back up to bed with me at 7.15 ish this morning, and looked out of the window at the front to see the bricklayer sitting in his car, waiting. By 8 bossman and another had arrived, and the brickie had begun to repoint the low wall next to the pavement. Good grief I do wish bossman would tell me when workers are going to be arriving! I decided I'd better get up.

Bossman and I had a discussion about the cracked sill to the patio door. I told him that I'd uploaded photos to Anglian's customer service department and they'd get back to me with an estimate of how much it would cost to put right. He, bossman, offered to fix it, but that would invalidate the guarantee I have from Anglian, so no thanks. He then thought it might be covered by the guarantee, but I told him it wasn't since a third party was responsible for the damage. I did agree to transfer him a bit more money, the job's just about done, but I've held back enough to pay Anglian.

I was nervous when he arrived and I knew I'd have to stand up for myself, even to the point of almost, but not quite, shaking. But I'm being fair, even though he wasn't best pleased.

After that I didn't feel like sanding down the walls and skirting in the front bedroom, not that I'm ever going to enjoy that job! So I got on with smaller, less messy tasks, and crossed a lot off my list!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.