THE GIBSIDE HOTEL

Slow start to the day then I stirred myself to walk to the Co-op. When I got back two parcels had been delivered to my " Safe Place " so I unpacked them.  ( Christmas presents mostly but also some nice scented candles for myself ).

Watched a bit of TV and then it was time to get ready to go out.  Can't remember the last time I went out on a Saturday night.  All the neigbours had been invited to Jackie's 50th birthday party at The Gibside Hotel in the village.  Jackie lives next door to me. I've known her since she was 12 years old.

The party started around 7pm and I walked to the village and arrived around 7.30pm.  The room was packed but I managed to find Jackie who took me over to a table where two ex -neighbours  N and R were sitting and I joined them. It was good to see someone I knew. I hadn't seen them for a few years since they moved to a bungalow in a nearby village.  They had to move as R got MS and she couldn't manage the stairs. Their two boys were just children when they lived near me and now the oldest is 26.  Doesn't time fly. They didn't stay too long as R was getting weary but soon after another two neighbours arrived.

The room we were in was full of party guests and there was a very loud disco going on so the noise was overpowering.  It was impossible to have a proper conversation and I just got worn out trying to lip read and guess what the others were saying. As well as getting a headache.  So I didn't stay too long and left at around 10 past 9 to walk home.

It was a  cold evening and quite windy but at least it was dry. Once I left the main street I didn't see another soul all the way home.

Steps today - 13,626

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.