Autumn

The cat I call Ghost Cat (because he looks white on the nighttime wildlife trail camera), enters the garden within a metre of the fox in the bushes.  The fox's dancing eyes watch Ghost Cat, who appears to be aware of the existence of the fox...except he does turn his head at one point...

https://youtu.be/fJuWrO3WTN4

Yesterday I was due a 3 parcel delivery from Amazon. And their vans don't leave the trading estate near here until 11:30, so, I had plenty of time.
I got dressed In my outdoor clothes, because I was going to the charity shops for some more jumpers to make leg warmers from. I wanted some fancy jumpers!
The road traffic is very light on a Saturday morning round here, and I enjoy a drive then. I was about leave to get there for 9am, but I checked my phone first before I put it in my bag. Your DPD driver will be with you in a few minutes. What? I am not expecting anything from DPD, only Amazon. The last email said these 3 parcels were coming from Amazon. So, I am thinking this might be a scam first of all. But then I notice I am due 3 DPD deliveries based on the DPD message, from different drivers, different times of day. And on each potential delivery it says DPD say this parcel is not suitable to be left in your safe place, so you have to receive it in person. Then Amazon send a message saying about the DPD driver delivering my parcels. I get to the kitchen door just in time and take my first parcel.

Obviously I don't have time to go out now in between parcels. So, I was very disappointed.

But to make sure I don't miss the parcels, I am on high alert now, and sit on the front couch all day watching for delivery drivers. The next one was due a few hours later, and the final one due at tea time when it is getting dark. I cannot do anything. I am all tensed up listening and watching. I can't have my naps in case I go asleep a few hours. So, by the time the tea time one came I am all wound up inside. Why couldn't Amazon deliver my three parcels in one go like they usually do?

But when I go to the kitchen door when I saw the DPD white van arrive, I am faced with my stupid neighbour's flashing Xmas lights all down the side of his bungalow less than 6 metres away, flashing into my kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom. He must've put them up today. My heart sank through the floor. I have mentioned this in previous years, that the flashing Xmas lights between his bungalow and mine, in such close proximity disturbs my sleep. This is a dead area that no one, neither him, nor the street can see, so it serves no purpose. I am not against Xmas lights as such...he decorates the front and back garden and the other side which does face the street, up to the nines. None of that interferes with me or my sleep.

So this meant I couldn't relax, and I stayed on the couch all evening dozing on and off (my front garden has a lot of vegetation and Xmas lights cannot penetrate into my front room). It was nearly midnight before he turned them off. Then I could go to my bed...

Silly me, instead of just going straight back to sleep, I am thinking, you mean this is what I have to do the next 6 or 7 weeks. So, I didn't get straight back to sleep.

Just now been talking to my daughter in Australia, and she came up with a brilliant idea. She sent me some links to those black out screens you put inside the car window if you are sleeping in the car, they have suckers on them. And there were some bigger ones. You can move them round to where you need them, she said, because curtains/blinds/blackoput screens you can't open and shut etc .  All that I have difficulty with. 

There is, at last, hope on the horizon. This seems very doable for the dexterity I am capable of.  

I have found a blackout one I like - it is on offer, and it has cats printed all over it!

Creative is a painting of autumn in Procreate....peaceful and calming...

Bye...I am now off shopping in Amazon....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.